November 1, 2013 – Library Student Day in the Life

November 1, 2013

Busy day.  Dashed over to GW early to catch the keynote address of Tech@State by the President of Coursera, Lila Ibrahim.  Ran into friend/colleague and co-CUA librarian, TS, and had a nice chat.  After her speech I met with Ms. Ibrahim and we chatted about ModPo.  She had her folks take a picture, which she e-mailed to me, which I posted to Facebook (of course).  Here is a link to the photo and comments (hope this works!):   https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=211690639012407&set=gm.256472484504884&type=1&theater

Rushed back to the car and headed out to FSI for the last day of the 4-week Job Search Program.  Arrived in time to do a nice evaluation of our small group facilitator.  We had a couple of lectures, then proceeded to the reception hall for a graduation reception.  Old friends were there, along with classmates.  Nice conversation, chats with the course staff and chats with the folks from DACOR and AFSA.  Took a group photo (which we have not yet received) and a single shot with Grand Master Ben Franklin, which I posted here:  https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=211784162336388&set=a.142153369299468.1073741826.100005144172946&type=1&theater

I devoted the rest of the day to catch-up reading for 551.  Today starts NaNoWriMo.  But I have promises to keep.  Think I will continue the daily blog entries throughout November instead.

Late in the evening, I fished out from the e-mail cesspool my draft for Assignment #1 in The Future of Storytelling.  Here it is:

Haven’t yet posted to the forum.  But my most vivid storytelling memory comes from The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.  I think I was in 4th grade, and I didn’t fully understand a lot of the adventures.  But my brain clenched on to the dialogue between Huck Finn and his Aunt Polly (I think that was her name, she was Huck’s loco parentis, as it were).  Aunt Polly scolded Huck for hanging out with Nigger Jim and told Huck he would go to hell if he maintained the friendship.  What followed, as I recall, was a Huck Finn soliloquy where he decided that if the consequence of keeping a friendship he cherished was to go to hell, then he would just have to go to hell.  I remember thinking, “Wow, what a big decision for a young boy to make.”  And I remember that I started making decisions for myself after reading it. My father, I recall, was slightly amused that I identified with Huck and not with Jim.  I amused him a lot…
I re-read Huck Finn in 9th grade, along with TKAMB, Billy Budd, and Oliver Twist, all “coming of age” novels. But for me, nothing held a candle to The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.
Leave a Reply

