April 5, 2015

traveling west on I-40

early spring is as colorful as late autumn:
the highway flora is putting on new clothes
winter’s browns and greys displaced by greens
and oranges and reds and purples

further west, the road gets curvier and trees,
more hardwood that evergreen, more long-legged,
evergreens shorter, bushier

the baby mountains start to appear,
along with their mothers and fathers –
majestic, protective, persevering

I can feel my brain starting to bend
to the mountain curves. I switch the sound
from talk radio to jazz. A Love Supreme
takes me all the way to my mountain home

One thought on “April 5, 2015

Leave a Reply

