a couple of gardening poems….my new meditation (tomorrow there will be photos!)

gardening II

all my verse is about gardening
these days, the rains that feed,
the weeds that choke (which is
their right to do), the late frost
that kills the tender shoots from seeds
I planted too early.

my sunflowers are quite the ladies,
bashful, tender, as they approach
their flowering stage, the carrots
need more thinning, their tops
the brightest green, and the turnip
leaves too tough to eat.

but one of the weeds has edible
leaves – I’ll think I’ll let it grow.

gardening I

gardening has given me
a different relationship
with the environment
than what I had before –

weather, mainly.
I fret a bit when it’s been dry –
and I worry when it rains
too long or too hard

or too frequently –
weeds are so much more adaptable –
and I have seeds in the ground,
and skin in the game.

3 thoughts on “a couple of gardening poems….my new meditation (tomorrow there will be photos!)

  1. Hey RD–Wonderful poems! As an avid gardener for almost 50 years, I appreciate the glimmers of positive sentiments you direct towards the volunteers in your garden, and the partial reprieve you grant the one you found had an edible root.Yet you persist in using the pejorative “weed” — I would abandon the word, let it compost (it’s even worse in Spanish, where the common term is “malas hierbas”). Volunteer is such a lively, energetic word! And it gives a better reflection of our relationship with these natives and invaders, so that cultivation becomes giving the positive attention to our cultivars that they need – which admittedly often means giving them more room by removing some volunteers… I just always try to keep some corner and edge spots where the volunteers get to do their thing, and every once in a while I let one take a prime spot–had a magnificent Yellow Dock a couple of years ago, the most striking plant in the garden, even when it went to seed and dried to a deep, dark red. My wife was not pleased, but I insisted.

    Like

      1. Well, now we’re wading even deeper into philosophical musings… Michio Kushi of Macrobiotics fame said he always chose the saddest looking vegetables at the market because he knew no one else would.
        I reject the whole competitive frame. A garden, like a classroom, is a collaborative phenomenon, and everyone should get a chance to do their thing without comparative rating or ranking. We’re all here to grow/learn, and each of us has different needs. “Fair is not always equal.”

        Like

Leave a Reply

