MOOC, MOOC and more MOOC

So we are in Week Two of ModPo, coming down slightly from the extreme high I always get from the Week One massive dose of Emily Dickinson (ED) and Walt Whitman (WW). This snippet from ED #788, Publication is the Auction, has so much meaning to me these days:

Thought belong to Him who gave it –
Then – to Him Who bear
It’s Corporeal illustration – sell
The Royal Air –

In the Parcel – Be the Merchant
Of the Heavenly Grace –
But reduce no Human Spirit
To Disgrace of Price –

Along those lines (no pun intended – Ha!), I was reading WW’s “Give me the splendid silent sun” on my way to work and when I got to the line “Give me odorous at sunrise a garden of beautiful flowers, where I can walk undisturb’d,” I must have stepped on one of those spiritual tesseracts, a wormhole that transported me to a different place than where I was on the subway train. Anyway, when I returned to myself, I was three stops beyond my destination! Ah! The power of Poetry! To cite another ED poem, “There is no Frigate like a Book/To take us to Lands away.”

Next week starts Corpus Linguistics: Method, Analysis, Interpretation, a MOOC with the UK FutureLearn.  Two of my librarian friends (at least) are signed up for it.  Part of the appeal to me is stuff I have come across in poetry, but a bigger part is the interdisciplinary nature of the course and how it might inform my librarianship.

Somewhere in the future, we will be starting #Rhizo16, a MOOC that has arisen among a bunch of like-minded thinkers that is not tied to any of the big MOOC platforms.  In fact, we are more or less just a facebook group and a google docs site.  But then again, that is how the rhizome rolls.  It is timely for me as I prepare briefing presentation proposals for two or three upcoming conferences, all of which I hope to base on the rhizomatic approach.

(And I thought this was going to be a short, short post!)

Finally, work is going great.  I am moving from 10 to fifteen hours per week. And my side hobby at the Library of Congress is opening all kinds of new vistas for me. I had a nice chat with one of the exhibition directors today about the possibility of LAM (library-archive-museum) convergence inside cultural heritage institutions. Earlier in the week I learned about the Veteran’s History Project and spread the gospel to about 15 veteran groups I am affiliated with. And today, I delivered my first presentation (to a very small group) in Portuguese (I hope to be a bilingual docent when it is all done). More of this at my Docent Training Fieldnotes blog.

One thought on “MOOC, MOOC and more MOOC

Leave a Reply

